Thoughts on the Clarins Hand and Nail Treatment Cream

wolfandmoroko clarins hand and nail treatment cream

Hands age as fast as the face, and the consistent use of hand creams will combat the signs of premature aging (pigmentation, wrinkles and dehydration), as well as boost hydration and skin elasticity. A great hand cream will also protect your hands against UV exposure which can cause cracking and pigmentation.

Armed with this information, I decided to pull my socks up and invest in an actual hand cream, and stop using a body lotion as a hand cream. Clarins makes some of my favorite products – the Hydraquench gel is perfect for the Kampala heat and the beauty flash balm is a primer like no other. So when I received a Clarins Gift set, I was excited to try the Hand and Nail Treatment Cream.

Once again, Clarins did not disappoint, this stuff is good. So good, that I’ve started saving up for the full size version. The lotion like texture of this cream makes it sink immediately after application, leaving the hands nice and soft with a velvety, not greasy feel. Hand creams with a greasy residue make it impossible to work after application.

The hand cream is quite hydrating and  I’ve noticed that my cuticles are softened as a result. My only issue with this cream is the smell, it smells like a flower that’s been smoking. Thankfully it’s barely noticeable a minute or two after application .

I apply the hand cream every time I wash my hands or whenever they’re feeling dry. I also apply with sunscreen before heading outdoors for the day, focusing application on the tops of the hands since they are exposed to more UV radiation compared to the palms. (P.S. You can also use a matte finish facial SPF as your daytime hand cream). At night, I apply just before going to bed. I haven’t worn gloves to bed yet but I’ve been told that would protect against more moisture loss and there will be no greasy feeling. On the day I need extra hand pampering, I will do just that. Hmm…I should actually buy satin gloves from a bridal store just for that.

My favorite way to apply hand cream is to squeeze it onto the back of the hand and rub the back of the other hand against it. This is because the skin on the top of the hands is much thinner and has less sebaceous glands, meaning it can become dry very quickly and therefore needs the most moisture.

You can find the 100ml/3.5oz  Clarins Hand and Nail Treatment Cream in various locations including their stores, Amazon and Sephora for US$20-30.

I use my hands a lot over the day; typing on the computer, cooking, washing dishes, making wild gestures as I speak…So it’s only fitting that I take care of them. Which hand cream have you tried? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

