Do You Really Need a UV Blocking Parasol for Sun Protection?

wolfandmoroko uv umbrellas

For the last few years, come rain or shine, a compact black umbrella has been one of my handbag staples. I never leave the house without one because the weather in Uganda is unpredictable; it can go from drizzling in the morning to blazing hot in the afternoon and heavy rain in the evening. While running errands around town, chances are I’ll be holding up an umbrella. I don’t care if it’s raining or not either, I’m one of those, my spirit animal is a character in a Jane Austen novel.

Since we’re all about savvy beauty (which includes sun protection) here, when I heard about UV-blocking parasols (basically umbrellas for the sun) I had to find out more. UV-blocking parasols are those made with UV blocking fabric. Apparently, they block up to 99% of UV radiation. I was all excited to buy one (I mean just look at this one. Gorgeous!), until I saw the prices. Let’s just say they pushed me to do more research. It paid off because I learned that one could continue rocking a regular black umbrella instead!

According to this study by JAMA Dermatology, a regular black umbrella would block up to 95% UV radiation. Add that to diligent sunscreen application, the occasional wide-brimmed hat and wearing UV protected eyewear, and I don’t see the point in buying a UV blocking umbrella. Just save those coins and purchase more sunscreen instead!

Light umbrellas can block up to 77% UV radiation, so generally speaking, the darker the umbrella, the better protection it provides. This is a very good thing because when it comes to fashion; black is très chic.

So until I learn something new, I’ll continue using a regular black umbrella. What about you? Would you purchase a UV blocking umbrella/parasol? If the answer is yes, check out these ones: Brelli, Sun Guard and Amazon.

Image Source

Leave a Reply

