5 K-Beauty Ingredients I’m Excited to Try

wolfandmoroko kbeauty ingredients im excite for

You’ve got to admit, some beauty treatments are just weird, I wouldn’t touch them with a ten-foot anything. An example is this beauty blogger’s semen facial, I mean, excuse my Ateso but okwe lolo!

On the other hand, some skin care treatments have me wishing for pay day like Kanye wants a billion. You know…for the sake of science. As you know from this post, I have been really getting into Asian beauty recently, especially the sunscreens.

Along this journey, I came across interesting ingredients and trends. Here is a list of the five Korean beauty ingredients I’m excited to try in 2016.

  1. Snail Mucin

That’s right. Scientifically called “Helix Aspersa Müller Glycoconjugates”, snail slime/goo/mucin is a “complex chemical mixture of proteoglycans, glycosaminoglycans, glycoprotein enzymes, hyaluronic acid, copper peptides, antimicrobial peptides and trace elements including copper, zinc and iron.(…) Snail slime may be a powerful bioactive material.”(Source: Beauty Brains)

Which basically means snail mucin could be an excellent moisturizer. You could discover more about snail mucin from this post by K-Beauty blogger, Fiddy . Her post actually convinced me to try out snail mucin, starting with the COSRX Advanced Snail 96 Mucin Power Essence.

2. Licorice Root Extract

I have mentioned licorice extract before as a well-documented brightening superstar. The Sunday Riley Good Genes is a great serum with licorice extract but I couldn’t possibly justify the purchase to my accountant at this point in my life. Instead, I will turn to a product which has great reviews and is pocket friendly, Holy Snails’ Shark Sauce! You can read a review of the product from Cat Of Snow White and the Asian pear here.

3. Galactomyces Ferment Filtrate

You may have heard of the highly popular and expensive SKII Facial Treatment Essence which is considered a holy grail skin brightening product among celebrities. Well, it is formulated with a type of active fermented yeast, galactomyces ferment filtratewhich is a result of the sake brewing process. Galactomyces yeast, may deliver antioxidants effectively to skin.

Thankfully I won’t have to dig deep into my pockets to test out galactomyces, the presence of the COSRX Galactomyces 95 White Power Essence guarantees that. You can read this  review of the product by  Fiddy of Fifty Shades of Snail.

4. Honey

I’m a great fan of honey as a skin treatment. I slather on a raw honey mask while I prance around the house getting ready every morning. This can quickly get messy, so I’ve been on the lookout for honey skin care that would be as beneficial with less of a mess.

Cue the Shara Shara Honey Bomb All In One Ampoule  which delivers the healing, antioxidant, and moisturizing powers of honey, propolis, and royal jelly extract along with anti-aging antioxidants like niacinamide to provide intense hydration and a beautiful glow. Here is a review of the product by Sherry of The Wanderlust Project.

5. Hanbang

Hanbang is traditional Asian herbal medicine. Botanical extracts have a long history in beauty, they definitely work, remember geishas? They didn’t ‘just wake up like dis‘. Through the careful selection of extracts that soothe, brighten, heal and protect, humans have been able to take care of their skin.

Extracts like prunus persica (peach) leaf extract and gingko biloba leaf extract, may promote aging well, sophora angustifolia root extract and scutellaria baicalensis root extract, may brighten skin. Licorice root extract, mentioned above, has been proven to brighten skin.

I’m game to explore this hanbang world,starting with the Etude House I Need You Sheet masks.

What new ingredients are you excited to try this year?

3 thoughts on “5 K-Beauty Ingredients I’m Excited to Try

  1. Pingback: 4 Anti Aging Eye Creams for the Beauty Kit |

Leave a Reply

