3 Ways Honey Masks help Your Skin Glow

wolfandmoroko honey

I had always heard of the miraculous healing power of honey. I just never bothered to put it to the test, until recently. One afternoon, on a whim, I decided to slather my clean, slightly damp face in raw honey for about an hour. After rinsing the mask off with tepid water I could not believe the results! My skin was plump and moisturized!  I decide to do this for a week straight, I kid you not, I started to glow. Needless to say, honey masks have become a staple in my skincare regimen.

Since Ancient times, honey has been held in high regard, just ask the fabulous Queen Cleopatra who took baths in milk and honey (this I definitely have to try – for science). She was known to have radiant, smooth skin and the most beautiful woman of her time.

Science has gone to prove her female intuition right and we know why it’s great properties make honey masks an essential step in your clear, glowing skin care arsenal.

Honey is a humectant moisturizer

Honey is hygroscopic, it absorbs moisture, making it a humectant moisturizer. There could not be a better moisturizing mask. Just apply some raw honey on a clean slightly damp face for 15 -60 minutes and rinse off with tepid water. A little goes a long way, a teaspoon of honey is enough for my entire face and décolletage. Please use raw honey i.e. straight from the hive, just sieved, not heat processed.

Honey is anti bacterial

This study showed that in concentrations between 2.5% and 5%, honey is effective against the harmful bacteria staphylococci. While I haven’t come across a study that tested honey’s effect on P.acnes, the acne causing bacteria, I think honey could work on mild acne too.

Honey gets its antibacterial properties when the bees add an enzyme that generates low levels of hydrogen peroxide, an active ingredient that kills bacteria.

Honey is anti inflammatory

Honey is anti inflammatory. When your skin is inflamed by minor acne, eczema or psoriasis, the active components in honey would bring you relief.

I hope I have convinced you enough to have honey as a staple in your beauty regimen. As I mentioned before, be particular about the type of honey you use. Not all types of honey will be as effective, make sure it’s as raw as possible to see any results.

What are some of your favorite honey treatments? Let me know in the comments.
Follow my blog with Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “3 Ways Honey Masks help Your Skin Glow

  1. Pingback: How To Make a Chocolate Facial Mask | Wolf & Moroko

  2. Pingback: The Me Time Tag | Wolf & Moroko

  3. Pingback: How To Make a Chocolate Facial Mask | Wolf + Moroko

  4. Pingback: How to Treat Your Dry Skin in Cool Weather |

  5. Pingback: Three Serums for Three Skin Concerns |

Leave a Reply

